A Slightly Delayed Yet Heartfelt Learner

8066863117_61b1ccbd93_z

Photo CC-By welcometolearn

For as long as I can remember, I did not enjoy school. I mean, dreaded getting ready so early in the morning, trudging to line up outside, and then running and skipping with joy at the end of the day. Don’t get me wrong, I did well in school. I have been an honor roll student for my entire career. For whatever reason though, school was not my cup of tea and it cramped my style.

 

IMG_0740

My graduation from MPCC

 

Then, my senior year of high school arrived. I suddenly was faced with the impending decision of what to do with my life. I decided to stay in my hometown and attend the community college. I graduated with two Associate degrees in half the time. While attending community college, I took one education class my first semester – just to see if maybe I would like it, not really intending to continue. Well guess what, my instructor was awesome, I loved the content, and I was required to participate in field experience which led to me falling in love with teaching and being in the classroom. (Shoutout to MPCC and Sandau for helping me discover my passion!)

 

IMG_0614

1st picture on my new campus

My last semester at MPCC, I struggled with where I should continue my college education. CSC just kind of fell into place for me. I applied and was accepted rather quickly. My advisor located in my hometown (CSC partners with MPCC and offers online Bachelor’s degree programs) was awesome and really made the transition easy and exciting! Thus, I found myself moving to Chadron as a transfer student majoring in Elementary Education with an endorsement in Early Childhood.

 

IMG_0823

A mentor teacher and I

Today, I could not be any more thrilled with my decision or thankful for God’s guidance and provision in my life. I love children however, for whatever reason, could not ever picture myself as a teacher. I have now discovered my passion for educating children and mentoring them to reach their full potential. CSC has been such a blessing in helping me to learn to be the best educator possible. I have gained valuable skills which I will take with me into the field and will use in my own classroom to help my students. Can I just say, I don’t hate school anymore!  Way to go, CSC! This could be considered a miracle (okay, probably not but it is a big deal!) When I am learning relevant information to apply to my future, I am interested and engaged.

 

 

3580411566_c60a6753a6_z
Photo CC-By Hamner_Fotos

As I look to the future and continuation of my learning, I am both excited and scared. I may not fully understand what I am getting myself into, however, I do fully know my God created me for this. I am sure I will learn some lessons the hard way but I am also hoping (and praying) I will be able to learn some lessons the easy way. Reflecting on my path thus far, I am grateful I eventually learned to love learning. It is my hope that I can help my students find the same excitement, adventure, and love for learning. Perhaps, I will get a similar license plate….probably not but it does show how passionate I am about learning and teaching!

 

I leave you with a Chinese Proverb :

“Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere.”

 

Sincerely,

A Slightly Delayed Yet Heartfelt Learner (:

6 thoughts on “A Slightly Delayed Yet Heartfelt Learner

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post. You bring such a valuable background to teaching. So many of us who become teachers do it because we always loved being in a classroom and feel so at home there. But I think that makes it hard for us to relate to the many, many kids who do not like school, and it makes it hard for us to have some perspective about the changes that really need to happen in the way we “do school” to make it a welcoming, engaging, and meaningful experience for ALL kids.

    • Thanks for reading! Once I decided to become a teacher, one of my goals from the start was to make my classroom a place all of my students enjoyed being in. Classroom environment and atmosphere is an important goal for me because I know what it was like to not want to be in school and I want my students to love being in school and love learning. Thanks for the comment!
      Cara

  2. Cara, before reading this post, I NEVER would have guessed that you didn’t like learning at one point in time. Based on the numerous classes that I have taken with you, I always assumed that learning was something that you enjoyed, and clearly did well with. I’m glad that you found your niche and were finally able to find your love of learning and teaching. We are in such a rewarding profession, and I know you are going to be great in the classroom!

    • Courtney,
      People who know me now generally have the same reaction. I certainly enjoy learning now, especially when I am learning how to be a better educator! We really are in about the best profession out there! Thank you, you’ll be great too! Thanks for reading!
      Cara

  3. I loved your story. I feel the same way, I always earned good grades, but I never really wanted to be at school, to me I only went to socialize. I am so happy that you have found your niche at CSC. I have taken several courses through them, and I feel like it is an awesome school to be at. I got started on my education journey because I was a para at the school district in Scottsbluff, and all my coworkers are pushing me to go back to school to get my degree. I am excited to start this journey and am happy to be able to get to communicate with fellow students going through the same stuff. Ashley

    • Ashley,
      Thanks! I really do love CSC! It is such a great school! Congrats on going back to school, I hope you find what you need at CSC. Thanks for reading!
      Cara

Leave a Reply

