Keeping a Journal of My Attention

This week has been a fun and interesting week.

In addition to learning about neat online creation tools and being digitally mindful, I have also spent time keeping an attention journal.

Throughout this week, I have paid more attention to my body language, emotions, and where my time was being spent while being online and using technology.

For each session in my journal, I was to document the following:

  1. Date
  2. Description of Physical Space and Device
  3. Duration of session
  4. What occurred
  5. What you did
  6. How you felt
  7. What worked
  8. What did not work

I learned several things throughout the week. Probably the most interesting to me is about the time I spend online. The majority of my time was for homework. This included reading articles, watching videos, reading other blogs, commenting on other blogs, and writing my own blog. Each of these activities require a good amount of time.

IMG_2381IMG_2142Whenever I work on time-consuming homework, I try to work for about an hour and then take a short break. At the beginning of the week, I found myself reaching for my phone to scroll social media but by the end of the week, I decided to truly give my eyes a break from the screen and would play with my dogs for a bit.

As for my social media time, I actually found I did not spend as much time as I thought. Truthfully, I try to unplug as often as I can and make a conscious decision to do something other than scan social media when I have a free minute. The most common time of day that I do get on social media is in the evenings. By the evening, I tend to be finished working on homework for the day and spend a chunk of time scrolling. I only have notifications turned on for Instagram and Twitter. I don’t get a lot from Instagram because I don’t post very frequently and I have Twitter turned on so I can interact and correspond with classmates.

Another interesting thing I learned this week was something that surprised me but probably shouldn’t have. When I journaled about my time spent on social media, I repeatedly reported not exactly feeling much emotionally. What I’m saying is that I realized I only check social media for something to do to waste some time. This made me wonder, what am I gaining from social media? It should be noted that I am talking about Facebook, Snapchat, and Instagram (I’m gaining tons from interacting with my classmates on Twitter!) Sure, I stay in the loop of my family’s adventures but aside from that, I don’t need to know what everyone else is doing.

pexels-photo-64769

Photo CC By Lia Leslie

One last thing I learned while journaling was that once I had been paying closer attention to my online time for a couple of days, it made me more conscious in other areas. Not only did I tend to steer away from social media more but I began to ask myself what the most productive option was for my time. It also opened my mind into reflecting upon my homework habits.

This week has been quite a thought-provoking and reflective week. I enjoy learning more about how technology can help us but I also enjoy taking breaks and unplugging.

 

Sincerely,

A Girl Giving Her Attention to Real Life Events

2 thoughts on “Keeping a Journal of My Attention

  1. Cara,
    I am glad to hear that you are being more mindful with your digital device use. Your dogs probably really enjoyed you playing with them! I think it is wise of you to notice the time you spend on social media and to make yourself take a break from it every now and then. Good for you!
    Skyler

Leave a Reply

